Our story

Because we like to cultivate our difference

100 years after its creation, our Grande Maison is resolutely oriented towards ever healthier and more responsible products, towards ever more genuine and attentive relationships. And this is because the men and women of Grands Moulins de Paris have made choices. 

- The choice to adopt a simple and true posture, from the cultivation of the grain to the flavour of the bread, from the selection of the ingredients to the tasting.

- The choice to be committed to the good, to the pleasure of creating quality products from a tradition and know-how that we pass on throughout the world.

- The choice to be as passionate as ever about our milling profession and the desire to share it, day after day, with pride.

- The choice to look to the future, positively and responsibly, to favour sustainable farming, production and transport techniques, to source our wheat as close as possible to our mills.

The origin of a great century-old house

1914-1918 -1st World War

As the war dragged on, the people were hungry and revolt was brewing. In 1917, Ernest Vilgrain, thethird generation of a line of Lorraine millers, was called to Georges Clémenceau's government, which he joined as Under Secretary of State for Supply. His primary mission: to give the people back their food. His success in this area earned him the nickname of "key holder of the national pantry".

Ernest VILGRAIN - portrait

1919 - Creation of Grands Moulins de Paris

Armed with this expertise, Ernest Vilgrain and his brother Marcel created Grands Moulins de Paris in April 1919. This was the beginning of an extraordinary story. Joined by a handful of men, all with milling expertise, they decided to build the largest industrial mill in the world to meet the population's supply needs on a permanent basis.

In the summer of 1919, the first stone of this emblematic building was laid on the Quai de la Gare in Paris, inaugurating the era of industrial milling. The ambition was strong: 6,000 quintals of wheat were to be milled every 24 hours. This ambition was quickly achieved and even exceeded.

In 1923, more than 7,900 quintals of wheat were milled per day, twenty times the production of the 20,000 other mills spread throughout the country. The production rate reached 9,500 quintals per day in 1925.

GMP station platform_aerial view henry roger 5

1929 - Creation of the first bakery school in France

After returning from the war, there were not enough bakers and the know-how was being lost. Grands Moulins de Paris therefore decided to create the Paris Bakery and Patisserie School (EBP Paris) to make up for the lack of manpower, and to safeguard and pass on the baker's know-how.

historical photo EBP Paris around 1936

Milling know-how and innovations for 100 years

Click on the different dates to discover the story behind them.

Francine historical packsIn 1965, 8 large regional flour mills joined forces to create a flour brand with national national influence. This is how Francine, born from the contraction of "France" and "Farine", came into being. The brand began by marketing products that have become indispensable: Farine de Blé (1965) and Farine Fluide (1968).

More about the Francine brand

To be able to offer different products to consumers and respond to the growing competition, Grands Moulins de Paris launched in 1968 the first milling mix for bakersIn 1968, G rands Moulins Paris launched the first milling mix for artisan bakers: farmhouse bread.

Discover the range of milling mixes today

Logo les Recettes de mon Moulin

At that time, there were not enough puff pastry masters in the baking industry. Bakers lacked the time to make their own puff pastry while demand was growing. In partnership with Délifrance, Grands Moulins de Paris is introducing a selection of the best frozen bakery products. The launch of the frozen offer in 1979 was a real revival for bakers, at a time when their trade was diversifying.

Over the years, we have been able to innovate and diversify with a wide range of pastries, cakes and delicatessen products in order to better assist craftsmen in their daily work while capitalising on a strong brand created in 2002: Les Recettes de mon Moulin.

Today, our offer allows us to meet the needs of consumers while developing the business of our clients. For each product we develop, we ensure that the ingredients are well chosen and that the artisanal know-how is respected.

Discover the Recette de mon Moulin range today

The "Ronde des Pains" bakery brand"is created by Grands Moulins de Paris in 1986. It will be commercially exploited until 2015.

Grands Moulins de Paris launches the first baguette under the brand nameCampaillette brand in 1989: theCampailletteDes Champs. Today the brand has a range of 9 flours.

Discover the Campaillette range of flours

Grands Moulins de Paris is the leading player in business transactions with dedicated teams. The Financial Transaction Advisors (FTAs) assist artisan bakers in their search for business assets and in financing their project.

Learn more about transaction support today

VIVESCIA was officially created in 2012 with the merger of the two major cooperatives of the Eastern region: Champagne Céréales and Nouricia. The strong links that had already been established between these cooperatives and Grands Moulins de Paris are strengthened with the complete integration of our company into VIVESCIA, a French cereal cooperative group specialising in the cultivation and food value of cereals. We are proud to belong to the 10,000 farmers of Eastern France.

More about VIVESCIA

In order to support artisan bakers in their development, Grands Moulins de Paris has created a new bakery network concept under the Campaillette brand. This replaces the Ronde des Pains concept, capitalising on the success of the Campaillette brand for its baguette flours. Artisan bakers who join this network remain independent while benefiting from tools and services for their shop.

 

More about the Campaillette brand

2019: an anniversary year for GMP as it celebrates its 100th birthday!

In a world where 80% of the jobs of 2030 do not yet exist, celebrating 100 in 2019 is both a way for a company to highlight its outstanding performance and to affirm its confidence in the future.

In order to build the celebration of this centenary in a specific way, we have drawn on the wealth of French popular expressions around grain, mills and bread.

Discover the retrospective in pictures

On the occasion of its centenary, Grands Moulins de Paris has launched several striking innovations based on key food trends:

  - The search for a new experience with the Campaillette Epoca baguette with ancient grains and seeds

  - The naturalness committed with Francine's new organic multigrain bread flour and a new organic yeast and Campaillette's Grand Siècle Bio.

  - Tailor-made solutions: GMP is the first miller to offer bakers its online product catalogue so that they can order in a few clicks and simplify their daily routine 24/7!

2021-2022 - product innovations continue

- Blockchain on Francine Bio T55 flour: Fork to fork traceability with a focus on know-how in partnership with Connecting Food.

Francine blockchain and webapp operation
- Francine's practical pack for Wheat and Fluid flours : launched in addition to the paper bag which remains our main historical packaging method, this new packaging aims to meet certain expectations of practicality expressed by consumers who have an This new packaging aims to meet certain expectations of convenience expressed by consumers who have an average consumption frequency and who wish to avoid waste through a reduced format. This pack is recyclable.
Francine practical packs Wheat and Fluid

- The creation of Berrouga, rich in legumes, twice awarded at the Pépites de la Boulangerie 2021 and SIRHA Europain Awards 2022: an innovative milling mix rich in plant proteins, made from 100% French wheat flour and legumes.

Berrouga winner of the Pépites de la Boulangerie 2021 and SIRHA Europain Awards 2022

- Towards ever more responsible flours with Cœur d'Epi, a flour made from wheat produced using soil conservation agriculture.
Grands Moulins de Paris is reinforcing its commitment to greater responsibility by jointly developing a 100% VIVESCIA group chain in thesoil conservation agriculture. This practice combines quality production in quantity, respect for the soil and its biodiversity and better recognition of farmers for their practices.Coeur d'Epi" flour is produced at the Brienne-le-Château mill and sold only to artisan bakers in the East, Île-de-France and Rhône-Alpes regions.

You may also be interested in these contents

Notre histoire

Parce qu’on aime cultiver notre différence

100 ans après sa création, notre Grande Maison est résolument orientée vers des produits toujours plus sains et responsables, vers des relations toujours plus vraies et à l’écoute. Et ça, c’est parce que les femmes et les hommes de Grands Moulins de Paris ont fait des choix. 

  • Le choix d’adopter une posture simple et vraie, de la culture du grain à la saveur du pain, de la sélection des ingrédients à la dégustation.

  • Le choix d’être engagés pour le bon, pour le plaisir de créer des produits de qualité issus d’une tradition et d’un savoir-faire que nous transmettons partout dans le monde.

  • Le choix d’être toujours aussi passionnés par notre métier de meunier et par le goût de le partager, jour après jour, avec fierté.

  • Le choix d’être tournés vers l’avenir, positivement et de manière responsable, de favoriser des techniques agricoles, de production et de transport durables, de sourcer notre blé le plus près possible de nos moulins.

L'origine d'une grande maison centenaire

1914-1918 – 1ère Guerre mondiale

Alors que la guerre s’éternise, le peuple a faim et la révolte gronde. En 1917, Ernest Vilgrain, 3ème génération d’une lignée de meuniers lorrains, est appelé au gouvernement de Georges Clémenceau, qu’il intègre comme sous-secrétaire d’État au ravitaillement. Sa mission première : redonner à manger au peuple. Sa réussite en la matière lui confère le surnom de « porte-clefs du garde-manger national ».

Ernest VILGRAIN - portrait

1919 – Création de Grands Moulins de Paris

Fort de cette expertise, Ernest Vilgrain crée au sortir de la guerre en avril 1919, avec son frère Marcel, la société Grands Moulins de Paris. Une histoire hors norme débute. Rejoints par une poignée d’hommes, tous issus de l’expertise meunière, ils décident de construire le plus grand moulin industriel du monde pour répondre, de manière pérenne, aux besoins d’approvisionnement de la population.

C’est à l’été 1919 qu’est posée la première pierre de cet édifice emblématique, Quai de la Gare à Paris, inaugurant l’ère de la meunerie industrielle. L’ambition est forte : 6 000 quintaux de blé devront être moulus toutes les 24 heures. Une ambition rapidement atteinte et même dépassée.

En 1923, plus de 7 900 quintaux de blé sont moulus par jour, soit vingt fois la production des 20 000 autres moulins répartis sur le territoire national. La cadence atteindra 9 500 quintaux par jour dès 1925.

GMP quai de la gare_vue aérienne henry roger 5

1929 – Création de la première école de boulangerie en France

De retour de guerre, il n’y a plus suffisamment de boulanger et le savoir-faire se perd. Grands Moulins de Paris décidé donc de créer l’École de Boulangerie et de Pâtisserie de Paris (EBP Paris) pour pallier le manque de main d’œuvre, sauvegarder et transmettre le savoir-faire boulanger.

photo historique EBP Paris vers 1936

Un savoir-faire meunier et des innovations depuis 100 ans

Cliquez sur les différentes dates pour découvrir toute l’histoire qui se cache derrière.

Francine packs historiquesEn 1965, 8 grandes minoteries régionales se regroupent pour créer une marque de farine au rayonnement national. C’est ainsi que Francine, née de la contraction de « France » et de « Farine », a vu le jour. La marque a ainsi commencé en commercialisant des produits devenus incontournables : Farine de Blé (1965) et Farine Fluide (1968).

En savoir plus sur la marque Francine

Pour pouvoir offrir différent produits aux consommateurs et répondre à la concurrence grandissante, Grands Moulins de Paris lance en 1968 le premier mélange meunier pour les artisans boulangers : le pain de campagne. 

Découvrir la gamme de mélanges meuniers aujourd’hui

Logo les Recettes de mon Moulin

À cette époque, il n’y a plus assez de maîtres du feuilletage dans le milieu de la boulangerie. Les boulangers manquent de temps pour réaliser leur propre pâte feuilletée alors que la demande est grandissante. En partenariat avec Délifrance, Grands Moulins de Paris met en place une sélection des meilleurs produits surgelés en boulangerie. ​ Le lancement de l’offre en surgelés en 1979 fut un véritable renouveau pour les boulangers, à l’heure où leur métier se diversifiait. 

Au fil des années, nous avons su innover et nous diversifier avec une large gamme de viennoiseries, pâtisseries et produits traiteur afin d’accompagner au mieux les artisans dans leur quotidien tout en capitalisant sur une marque forte créée en 2002 : Les Recettes de mon Moulin. 

Notre offre permet aujourd’hui de répondre aux besoins des consommateurs tout en développant l’activité de nos clients. Pour chaque produit que nous développons, nous veillons à ce que les ingrédients soient bien choisis et que le savoir-faire artisanal soit respecté. 

Découvrir la gamme Recette de mon Moulin aujourd’hui

La marque d’enseigne de boulangerie « Ronde des Pains » est créée par Grands Moulins de Paris en 1986. Elle sera exploitée commercialement jusqu’en 2015.  

Grands Moulins de Paris lance la première baguette sous la marque Campaillette en 1989 : la Campaillette Des Champs. La marque compte aujourd’hui à la gamme 9 farines. 

Découvrir la gamme de farines Campaillette

Grands Moulins de Paris est le premier intervenant sur la transaction de fonds de commerce avec des équipes dédiées. Les Conseillers Transaction Financière (CTF) accompagnent les artisans boulangers dans la recherche de fonds de commerce et le financement de leur projet.

En savoir plus sur l’accompagnement transaction aujourd’hui

VIVESCIA naît officiellement en 2012 avec la fusion des deux grandes coopératives de la région Est : Champagne Céréales et Nouricia. Les liens forts qui étaient déjà noués entre ces coopératives et Grands Moulins de Paris se renforcent avec une intégration complète de notre entreprise à VIVESCIA, groupe coopératif céréalier français spécialisé dans la culture et la valorisation alimentaire des céréales. Nous sommes fiers d’appartenir aux 10 000 agriculteurs de l’Est de la France.

En savoir plus sur VIVESCIA

Afin d’accompagner les artisans boulangers dans leur développement, Grands Moulins de Paris a créé un nouveau concept de réseau de boulangerie sous la marque Campaillette. Celui-ci vient en remplacement du concept Ronde des Pains, en capitalisant sur le succès de la marque Campaillette pour ses farines à baguettes. Les artisans boulangers qui adhèrent à ce réseau restent indépendants tout en bénéficiant d’outils et services pour leur boutique.

 

En savoir plus sur la marque Campaillette

2019 : une année anniversaire pour GMP qui fête ses 100 ans !

Dans un monde où 80% des métiers de 2030 n’existent pas encore, célébrer ses 100 en 2019 c’est pour une entreprise à la fois la mise en avant d’une performance hors du commun et l’affirmation d’une confiance dans l’avenir.

Pour construire de façon spécifique la célébration de ce centenaire, nous nous sommes appuyés sur la richesse des expressions populaires françaises autour du grain, du moulin et du pain.

Découvrez la rétrospective en images

À l’occasion de son centenaire, Grands Moulins de Paris a lancé plusieurs innovations marquantes basées sur les tendances clés de l’alimentaire :

  La recherche d’expérience nouvelle avec la baguette Campaillette Epoca aux céréales anciennes et graines

  La naturalité engagée avec côté Francine une nouvelle farine à pain multri-graines Bio Francine et une nouvelle levure Bio et côté Campaillette la Grand Siècle Bio.

  Les solutions sur-mesure : GMP est le premier meunier à proposer aux boulangers son catalogue produits en ligne pour commander en quelques clics et simplifier leur quotidien 24h/24 et 7j/7 !

2021-2022 – les innovations produits continuent

Blockchain sur la farine Francine Bio T55 : la traçabilité de la fourchette à la fourche avec une mise en avant des savoir-faire en partenariat avec Connecting Food.

Fonctionnement blockchain Francine et webapp
 Le pack pratique Francine pour les farines Blé et Fluide : lancé en complément du sachet papier qui reste notre mode de conditionnement historique principal, ce nouveau conditionnement vise à répondre à certaines attentes de praticité exprimées par des consommateurs qui ont une fréquence de consommation moyenne et qui souhaitent à travers un format réduit éviter le gaspillage. Ce pack est recyclable. 
Francine packs pratiques Blé et Fluide

 La création du Berrouga, riche en légumineuses, doublement récompensé aux Pépites de la Boulangerie 2021 et SIRHA Europain Awards 2022 : un mélange meunier innovant riche en protéines végétales, à base de farine de blé et de légumineuses 100% françaises.

Berrouga lauréat des Pépites de la Boulangerie 2021 et SIRHA Europain Awards 2022

 Vers des farines toujours plus responsables avec Cœur d’Epi, farine dont les blés sont issus de l’agriculture de conservation des sols. 
Grands Moulins de Paris renforce son engagement pour plus de responsabilité en développant conjointement une filière 100% groupe VIVESCIA dans la démarche d’agriculture de conservation des sols. Cette pratique allie production de qualité en quantité, respect des sols et de leur biodiversité et une meilleure reconnaissance des agriculteurs pour leurs pratiques. La farine « Cœur d’Epi » est produite au moulin de Brienne-le-Château et commercialisée uniquement auprès des artisans boulangers des zones Est, Île-de-France et Rhône-Alpes. 

Ces contenus peuvent également vous intéresser